

Journal of Chromatography A, 884 (2000) 1–2

JOURNAL OF CHROMATOGRAPHY A

www.elsevier.com/locate/chroma

Foreword

The 12th International Ion Chromatography Symposium (IICS'99) was held under sunny skies at the luxurious Fairmont Hotel in downtown San Jose, CA, USA on 12–15 September 1999. The symposium continues to be the major international meeting for chromatographers from around the world to gather and discuss the separation and determination of inorganic and organic ions using ion chromatography (IC) and capillary electrophoresis (CE). Approximately 200 scientists from 23 countries (representing all continents except Africa and Antarctica) attended IICS'99. The symposium consisted of 57 oral and 59 poster presentations.

The symposium opened with the 1999 IICS Award Lecture by Professor Shi-fen Mou. Dr. Mou has authored over 70 publications and presentations on a wide range of applications of ion chromatography, including separations of organic acids, inorganic anions, carbohydrates, and extensive studies on lanthanides and transition metals in various matrices. However, Professor Mou's most important contribution to IC has been her indefatigable efforts in introducing the technique to China. In her award address, Dr. Mou demonstrated the breadth of her expertise in her discussions of the application of new solvent-compatible ion-exchange columns, and the determination of transition metals and anions in complex matrices with novel post-column reagents for detection and a simplified "heart-cut" method.

After Dr. Mou's Award Lecture, the Student-Travel and Registration Awards were presented. These awards help young scientists to participate in and present their work at the symposium. The IICS'99 Student-Travel Awards were presented to: Michael Breadmore of the University of Tasmania, working with Professor Paul Haddad; Arety

Caliamanis of RMIT in Melbourne, working with Drs. McCormick and Carpenter; and Natasha Penner from Moscow State University, who works with Dr. P. Nesterenko.

A highlight of IICS'99 were the plenary lectures. These were opened by Prof. Jim Jorgenson of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. On the eve of the new Millenium, Prof. Jorgenson spoke eloquently of the present and future of separation science. Gary Christian of the University of Washington spoke of the synergy in combining flowinjection methodologies with ion chromatography and capillary electrophoresis. Jim Fritz of Iowa State University discussed exciting new developments in ion analysis by capillary electrophoresis, combining the capabilities of capillary electrophoresis and ion chromatography. These plenary lectures were then followed by symposia dealing with advances in IC and CE technology and the application of these techniques to the semiconductor industry.

The second day of the conference opened with John Riviello of Dionex Corporation overviewing some of the exciting new developments in IC instrumentation. Wolfgang Buchberger of Linz University, Austria, provided a tutorial on the fundamentals and new developments in detection in ion analysis. Similarly, Chris Pohl of Dionex Corporation provided insight into how to systematically select stationary phases for ion chromatography. Once a column has been selected, it is necessary to optimize its selectivity. Paul Haddad of the University of Tasmania discussed the use of computer optimization methodologies to optimize selectivity in IC. He then went on to discuss modifications of CE separations by capillary electrokinetic chromatography. Kai Ling Ng, a graduate student from the

PII: S0021-9673(00)00357-5

University of Tasmania, presented the final plenary lecture of the conference on IC and CE resources on the internet. This information is now available at http://www-ssg.chem.utas.edu.au/iccer/. Symposia on detection, sample preparation, CE methodology, and industrial and environmental applications followed the plenary lectures. These presentations were tremendous-filled with interesting results and ideas, and excellently presented. Personally, I constantly found myself wanting to be in two places at once. While one should not single out individual talks, there were a few highlights that I would like to share. Michael Breadmore won the "Liberace Award" for the loudest tie (fittingly a Tasmanian devil). Kai Ling Ng won the "Hitman Award" for most death-threats to the program chair. Paul Haddad (also known as Emily Hilder and Anthony Harakuwe) won the "AKA Award" for most pseudonyms. Finally, Sandy Dasgupta won the Existentialist Award for "being one with one's IC".

The poster presentations demonstrated a similar high caliber. In keeping with IICS tradition, the conference delegates voted for the best poster presentation. The impressive number of ballots, supporting a number of posters, demonstrated the quality of the presentations. In the end, however, we had to narrow them down to one (well, three). An Honorable Mention went to Xinyi Wei of the US EPA for her presentation entitled "Extraction and Identification of Arsenosugars". The IICS'99 Poster Award ended up a tie. The co-awardees were Michael Breadmore (U. Tasmania) for the "Use of Anionic Particles as a Pseudo Stationary Phase in CZE" and Andreas Zeeman for his poster on "Contactless Conductivity Detection". Both of these recipients will receive complementary registrations IICS'2000.

IICS'99 was a very successful and informative meeting due to the quality and scope of the technical presentations and the enthusiasm of all of the participants. I would like to thank the members of the Scientific Committee: Becky Adams, Richard Cassidy, Jim Fritz, Paul Haddad, Kikuo Oikawa, Chris Pohl, Shi-fen Mou, Hamish Small, and Lynn Vanatta. I would particularly like to thank Becky and Lynn for their tremendous efforts in putting together the Industrial Applications and Semiconductor Symposia.

Special recognition goes to Janet Strimaitis of Century International for the superb manner in which she organized the meeting, handled the details and steered us in the right direction. I really enjoyed working with her on IICS'99. Thanks also to Dr. Erich Heftmann of the Journal of Chromatography A for editing this Proceedings Volume. Finally, on behalf of the symposium attendees I would like to thank Dionex Corporation, and in particular Mike Merion and Petra Donnelly, for their financial and organizational support of the meeting.

The Chairman of the International Ion Chromatography Symposium for 2000 is Professor Antoine-Michel Siouffi of the Université d'Aix-Marseille III. The meeting will be held 11-14 September 2000 at the Hotel Plaza Concorde on the French Riviera in Nice, France. Information about the meeting is available on the web at http://www.icsymposium.com. On behalf of the Scientific Committee, I look forward to seeing you there.

Charles A. Lucy Edmonton, Alberta (Symposium Chair)

Canada